Nursery Number Two

As some of you probably know, I am incapable of taking on an easy task– I find some kind of sick joy in over complicating things for myself. So, of course, when it came time to decide on the theme for Robo Baby #2‘s nursery, I couldn’t pick something simple and buy everything we’d need at a baby store.

While visiting family in Michigan over the summer, I found these really cool wooden blocks at my aunt’s house and a huge bag of old books while we were out thrifting. While we didn’t know the gender yet, I decided that I really wanted to go the “vintage toy” route with the nursery. It would better suit a boy, but I figured I could make it work either way. We we find out just a couple days later that Baby Robo #2 was indeed a boy, so the search for nursery goodies began.

The nursery was previously our office/storage/craft/throw-things-in-here-because-friends-are-coming-over room and already had tan walls. We decided to keep with the simple, clean wall color and stick to mostly primary colors for the decor.

DSC_0694

 

My mom and my aunt are both excellent thrifters, so they helped out a ton by finding some really great stuff. Of course, my unusual theme left me with a completely blank slate because not even Pinterest had suggestions to offer. Oh well. I love a challenge and I think we whipped up a pretty cute little room for Declan. Check out the images below and let me know what you think!

This is the main collection of toys. We had a small section of wall in between where the nursery door opens and the door frame for the closet, so it was perfect for an Ikea cube shelf full of vintage toys:

This is the “book nook” in the small corner between the closet and the window:

Declan gets to take over his big sister’s crib– she even left him some nice bite marks to remind him who the boss is, haha. We went with a simple patterned crib skirt (bonus: new sew!) that matches the DIY window valance I made. We also used Ellie’s old glider and added a little Radio Flyer riding toy for fun:

The dresser/changing area gave us another opportunity to display some cool old toys, as well as a vintage alphabet poster, DIY fabric scrap mobile, and some cool robot drawings that my friend Mel whipped up for Declan:

DSC_0712.JPG

While it was definitely a difficult theme to take on, I’m glad I went with something unique. I wouldn’t have been able to do it alone, so thank you to everyone who helped me along the way!

Overall, I think his room came out great. Now let’s add a baby boy to it and it will be absolutely perfect. Any day now, son!

 

One thought on “Nursery Number Two

Leave a Reply

