Baked Beans {FFF}

If there’s one thing I can count on every Father’s Day weekend, it’s being completely stuffed. Much like Thanksgiving, the holiday literally revolves around food. I’m sure your dad was super grateful that you gave him that picture of yourself, but there’s no doubt the grill was heavily on his mind.

This Father’s Day weekend was packed for us. On Friday, we joined my parents at their weekly trip to Mexican where, no, I did not try the chips & salsa. Maybe next time. Shortly before heading to the restaurant, we found a snake in the driveway, which was big excitement for Ellie. The next morning, we had breakfast with my dad then ended the day at a friends/family barbecue. We finished off the weekend by going to church and having the in-laws over to grill out by our pool on Sunday evening. It was a busy, fun-filled weekend to say the least.

Saturday night’s cookout was hosted by one our favorite families, the Regans, whose patriarch doubles as a chef. Yeah, we weren’t going to turn that invitation down. Chef Craig rocked the smoker while the rest of the attendees covered the sides. My taste in food can obviously not be trusted, so I was in charge of plates and napkins.

20160618_190137

The spread was fantastic; ribs, pulled pork, mac & cheese, watermelon, corn on the cobb, and baked *wait for it* beans… Ugh. The people voted and I knew what I had to do.

I will say that I got lucky on this one. These beans are a family recipe of some friends who were also at the party and are said to be the best of the best. I know you’re going to tell me that your grandma’s cousin has the “best baked bean recipe” out there, but everyone was raving over these, so I trusted that they were truly good beans. Here is my reaction to trying them for the first time…

 

OVERALL RATING: 7/10. Much like the chips & salsa, it wasn’t terrible.

BEST THING ABOUT IT: The bacon and the overall flavor.

WORST THING ABOUT IT: Definitely the texture. I was pretty sure I was going to hate this experience solely because of the bean and I was right. I just can’t get past the mushy, grainy texture.

WOULD YOU TRY AGAIN? It’s not something that I would willingly order as a side or anything, but I wouldn’t freak out if baked beans touched something else on my plate. I couldn’t have said that a couple weeks ago.

Thanks for watching and reading. The feedback has been pretty funny. Catch you guys next time as I try COLESLAW for the first time. This was one the most hated foods on the survey, so it’s sure to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

