Ruffles All Dressed {FFF}

I interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to bring you a special edition of First Foods Friday. I know you were all looking forward to watching me try coleslaw, but you’ll have to hold out until next week for that. Sorry.

As some of you may know, last Friday was Canada Day! While it’s a seemingly meaningless holiday here in the states, it does hold a special place in my heart. Being a direct descendant of some pretty awesome Canadians, I have had the pleasure of visiting many times. One of my favorite parts of going to Canada as a kid was driving through the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel, so when my husband and I took our daughter to visit family in Michigan last summer, I was adamant about them experiencing that too. What better day to do that than Canada Day, eh?

We used our vacation as a fun opportunity to announce that we had Robo Baby #2 on the way and our day in Canada was a major part of that! You can see our travel themed pregnancy announcement video by clicking here; the part where we go through the tunnel still gives me all the feels.

So now you know a little more about why Canada Day is special to me, but what does that have to do with me eating weird stuff? Well, while little man and I were out shopping for a few cookout essentials last Friday, I spotted a little maple leaf on a chip bag that grabbed my attention. Ruffles “All Dressed” chips are a favorite of our neighbors to the north; I have seen people go nuts on the internet when they’ve found them here, but I hadn’t ever seen them myself. I have (very reluctantly) tried other Canadian “flavours” like Dill Pickle and Ketchup, so I figured we could have some Canada Day fun with these!

When our friends Maddi and Andrew got to the house to grill some burgers and hang out at the pool, I showed them the chips and we all got a kick out of the description on the back of the bag: I bet you’re wondering what ‘All Dressed’ means. After all, in America it just means you’re wearing all your clothes. But, in Canada, ‘All Dressed’ actually means delicious ridgy chips that somehow taste salty, savory & sweet all at the same time. Sounds good, eh?

We were all intrigued, and since it’s unusual for me to be trying something that no one else has tried, I thought it would be fun to get everyone in on it. Thankfully, they all agreed to play along. My daughter, much like my mom, has never met a chip she didn’t like, but we included her reaction too. Check out the video here:

For something that smells so bad, these chips really weren’t terrible. I don’t care for vinegar, so that was the downfall for me. The BBQ flavor was strongest and actually reminded me a lot of the Hickory BBQ Wavy Lays, but a little more bitter. Aside from Maddi hanging me out to dry there at the beginning and a couple bloopers from the guys, I would say this was out most successful First Foods Friday so far.

OVERALL SCORE: 7/10. I would likely eat them if they were the only chip available, but I doubt I would buy them again. Ellie and the guys would probably give them a perfect score. 

If you’ve tried these before, be sure to let me know what you thought about them. If you haven’t, would you be willing to?

2 thoughts on “Ruffles All Dressed {FFF}

  1. GLORIA E LOGAN says:

    You are more Canadian and French  than you think. My mother and father were Canadian. All my sisters were born in  Canada. I was the only one born in USA On the Logan side, your great grandmother Anna Chasse Logan was French Canadian . Glad you celebrated that great day!

Leave a Reply

